Life after the course book

May 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

Okay, I’m teaching a group of 7-8 year old beginners and we started off using a course book. After about a month I realized that the course book didn’t provide the input my kids needed. It was too much about writing and reading and far above some of my learner’s heads, as they were beginner readers and writers in L1. So I used less and less of the course book and created more and more material myself, used different storybooks and started to  rewrite the syllabus.

Some of the things I do and which work well, I’d like to share with you. It will not only be about this one group, but everything will be YL related. I hope, someone might find my ideas useful and will try them out in his/her lessons.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Life after the course book at The Hedgehog Blog.

meta

